7114173635_1180c53d5f_bUW Fellows are actively involved in scholarly activities during the fellowship year. Part of this experience includes involvement in clinical research. While all fellows are given an option to design and implement their own project over the year, many have chosen to become involving in ongoing research conducted by faculty members at UW and Seattle Children’s Hospital.
Jonathan Drezner, M.D., Director of Research,. has actively pursued research in the fields of emergency preparedness and sudden cardiac arrest in the athletic setting and is a leading international expert in this arena. Kimberly Harmon, M.D., Section Head for Sports, Medicine , also conducts research in the fields of sudden cardiac arrest, concussion, tendinopathy. Dr. John O’Kane is actively involved in researching youth sports injury, including concussions. Dr. Ashwin Rao, fellowship program director, is developing a program to evaluate mental health concerns in athletic populations. Dr. Kyle Nagle, Associate Pediatric Fellowship Director, actively studies the consequences of early sports specialization in young athletes. Past fellows have routinely been awarded podium presentations to a national assembly at the AMSSM annual meeting for their research efforts. Our residents and fellows have been prolific at the AMSSM annual meetings, winning multiple research awards:

AMSSM Founders’ Award
Kimberly Harmon (2021)

AMSSM Hough Memorial Lecture Award
Kimberly Harmon (2019)
Jonathan Drezner (2022)

AMSSM’s Harry Galanty Young Investigator Award
Jonathan Drezner (2004)
Ashwin Rao (2008)
Jessie Fudge (2009, 2012)
Irfan Asif (2011)
Brett Toresdahl (2013)
Ashley Austin (2021)

AMSSM Resident Scholar Award
Irfan Asif (2009)
Jessie Fudge (2010)
Brett Toresdahl (2012)
David Siebert (2016)
Andrew Gomez (2017)
Matthew Wise (2022)

AMSSM Best Overall Research
Jonathan Drezner (2008)
Irfan Asif (2010)
Nicola Hyde (2019)

Ashwin Rao (2009)
David Siebert (2017)
Kimberly Harmon (2019)

AMSSM Best Case Poster
Justin Rothmier (2006)

AMSSM Jason Davenport Memorial Scholarship Award
Alberto Oseguera (2021)
Beatrice Caballero (2021)

It is expected that the fellow conduct and complete a research AND quality improvement project and other scholarly endeavors, including frequent presentations at local and national academic conferences, presentations of research symposia, development of posters for poster presentations and involvement in medical school and CME lectures.

View current Sports Medicine research publications.

For a complete listing of faculty research please click here.