About the Program

Explore more about the Program

Sample Fellow Rotation Schedule

Established in 1996, the University of Washington Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship is an ACGME accredited program which provides comprehensive training and experience in sports medicine. It is sponsored by the UW Department of Family Medicine and Seattle Children’s Hospital and accepts candidates with training in both family medicine, internal medicine and pediatrics through 2 tracks (FM/IM and Pediatric).

Strengths of the program include twelve core primary care faculty members with a certificate of added qualification in sports medicine, a world class academic medical center, a top-ranked Family Medicine and Pediatrics Departments and top-tier NCAA Division I sports program. The Primary Care Sport Medicine faculty are responsible for primary management of all sports-related injuries for UW Husky Athletics and the medical care of the Seattle Seahawks. Primary faculty include Dr. Dave Siebert (Director)  Ashwin Rao (Associate Director), Dr. Kyle Nagle (Pediatric Associate Program Director), Dr. Jonathan Drezner (Director of Research), Dr. Kimberly Harmon (Sports Medicine Section Head), Dr. John O’Kane, Dr. Monique Burton, Dr. Celeste Quitiquit, Dr. John Lockhart, and Dr. Tom Jinguji.

Fellows, as part of the university community, enjoy a wide array of university resources, including the nationally-renowned Health Sciences Library and an expansive library system, both online and on campus. The University of Washington itself is situated in the beautiful city of Seattle, a veritable mecca for those who enjoy the beautiful outdoors and the diverse offerings of a big city. We look forward to your application and welcome your interest



Our alumni have gone on to secure a wide variety of careers both academics and private practice. Among our graduates are Olympic, collegiate, and professional team physicians, academic department chairs, hospital medical directors, fellowship faculty and program directors, and directors of regional and national mass events. The UW Sports Medicine Fellowship takes pride in preparing our fellows for a wide range of careers and roles, placing emphasis on advanced procedural care, leadership at the local, regional, and national level, and preparation for the care of athletes of all backgrounds and levels, and we feel that the career choices and accomplishments of our graduates reflects our mission.

A list of our graduates, along with their notable awards and positions


Last Name First Name Current Employment Awards/Notable Positions




Stanford University

Seattle Children’s Hospital
Team physician, Stanford University

Faculty, Seattle Children’s Hospital
2022 Burleson


Boston University

Texas A&M University
Team physician, Boston University

Team physician, Texas A&M University
2021 Oseguera Alberto University of Washington 2021 AMSSM Memorial Scholarship
2021 Peyton Michael Primary Care Sports Medicine Clinic Piriformis Society
2020 Kung Kyle University of Washington Hall Health Center Piriformis Society
2019 Austin Ashley University of Washington Faculty, UW Sports Medicine Fellowship
2018 Williams Elizabeth San Diego Sports Medicine Faculty, San Diego Sports Medicine Fellowship
2017 Siebert David University of Washington UW SM Fellowship Program Director, UW Team Physician, Seattle Seahawks Team Physician
2016 Poon Steven Arizona State University Health Services ASU Team Physician
2015 Femiano Dominic Olympia Orthopedics Associates Saint Martin’s University Team Physician
2014 Toresdahl Brett New York- Presbyterian Team Physician for U.S. Biathlon and the Westchester Knicks NBA D-League Team
2014 Mulgrew Kirk Stanford Children’s Health Piriformis Society
2013 Pelto Henry University of Washington Medical Director, NHL’s Seattle Kraken
2012 Fudge Jessie Kaiser Permanente Medical Director- Special Olympics, HS Team Physician
2011 Asif Irfan University of South Carolina Chair of Family and Community Medicine at University of Alabama Birmingham (UAB). Former VP for Academics and Researchat   University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville, Sports Medicine Fellowship Director
2010 Fean Robyn Hendricks Regional Health HS Team Physician
2009 Palmer Chadwick University of Georgia University of Georgia Team Physician
2008 Rao Ashwin University of Washington Team Physician for Seattle Seahawks; UW Team Physician; UW Sports Medicine Fellowship Director, AMSSM BOD
2007 Chun Jordan Kaiser Permanente Former Team Physician – Seattle Storm
2006 Rothmier Justin Northwest Hospital Team Physician for Seattle Pacific University, Former Team Physician for Seattle Mariners, Medical Director of Ambulatory Services for UW Northwest Hospital
2005 Maeda Christopher Pacific Medical Former Team Physician for Seattle Storm; HS Team Physician
2004 Whirrett Brian East Cooper medical Center Piriformis Society
2003 Luna Wuaca Valley Medical Center HS Team Physician
2002 Fontana Santana Rio Rancho High Resort HS Team Physician
2001 Hawley Chris Romeo Medical Clinic Piriformis Society
2000 Drezner Jon University of Washington Team Physician for Seattle Seahawks, Seattle Reign and UW Huskies, Director of Sports Cardiology, Former AMSSM President
1999 Locknane Tim Evergreen Health HS Team Physician
1998 Jinguji Thomas Seattle Children’s HS team physician
1997 O’Kane John University of Washington

Team Physician for Seattle Reign, USA Soccer, UW Head Team Physician