Success! Department Fair & Scholarship Forum

Thank you!

Many thanks to all who attended the 14th Annual DFM Department Fair & Scholarship Forum on April 12th, 2023! It was wonderful to be back in person again to share cutting edge scholarly work. A complete list of presented oral and poster presentations are available here, along with event photos.

Congratulations to these Department Fair & Scholarship Forum 2023 Award Winners:

Best Abstract – Symptoms and signs of lung cancer prior to diagnosis: Case-control study using electronic health records from ambulatory care within a large US-based tertiary care center. Matthew Thompson, MBChB, MPH, DPhil; Maria Prado, MPH; Maggie Au, MS; Hannah Burkhardt; Monica Zigman Suchsland, MPH; Lesleigh Kowalski, MOT, OTR/L, ATP; Kari Stephens, PhD; Morhaf Al Achkar, MD, PhD 

Best Visual Poster Presentation – Exploring Prenatal Genetic Testing Ordering Practices and Barriers in Washington State Family Medicine Practices. Paula Trepman, MD, MPH (R2, Residency Research Track); Rachel Geyer, MPH (Research Scientist, Research Section); Nikki Gentile, MD, PhD (PI, Assistant Professor, Departments of Family Medicine and Laboratory Medicine and Pathology) 

Best Oral Presentation – Resources Pediatric Primary Care Providers Need to Provide Gender-Affirming Care to Transgender and Gender Diverse Youth. Colbey Ricklefs MD, MPH(1), Nicole F Kahn PhD, MEd(1,2), Peter G. Asante MD(1), Kacie M Kidd MD, MS(3), Wanda Pratt PhD(1), Dimitri Christakis MD, MPH(1,2), Laura P Richardson MD, MPH(1,2), Gina M Sequeira MD, MS(1,2) 1. University of Washington Family Medicine Residency Section 2. Seattle Children’s Research Institute 3. West Virginia University 

Photo L to R: Dave Evans, Nicolle Seigart, Jane Fellner, Steve Tarnoff, Colbey Ricklefs, and Paul James.

Congratulations to the inaugural winners of the Entering Class of 1978 Resident Innovation Award

We also took advantage of this in-person gathering to publicly announce that Drs. Colbey Ricklefs and Nicolle Siegart are the winners of the inaugural Entering Class of 1978 Resident Innovation Award. This new gift, donated by Andy Ury and Steve Tarnoff seeks to recognize outstanding Family Medicine innovation in the past year by a resident in the Department of Family Medicine.  The gift comes with a monetary award of $5000 that will be split by our two awardees. Dr. Ricklefs (PGY3) & Dr. Siegart (PGY2) are passionate advocates for gender affirming care, LGBTQIA+ rights, and sexual and reproductive health for all. They both made individual and combined contributions to this pursuit over the last year.