WWAMI Region

Matt Peters, Idaho WWAMI 3rd year student selected to serve as the 2017 Student Representative to the AAFP Commission on Continuing Professional Development. Matt’s story below:
“After attending the AAFP national conference for the second consecutive year this past summer with the generous sponsorship of the Idaho AAFP, I felt motivated to get more involved in the organization to learn how to help shape the future of family medicine. I have always found joy in the challenge of leadership positions, specifically those involving advocacy and policy change. After going through an application process, I was recently selected to serve as the 2017 Student Representative to the AAFP Commission on Continuing Professional Development. In this role, I will be the only student among a group of 16 physicians, one resident, and one chapter executive. We will meet twice in Kansas City in 2017 and will focus on matters relating to CME and enhancing the life-long learning of family physicians. I look forward to the opportunity to learn, grow, and contribute to the commission and hope to represent the state of Idaho well!”
WRITE/TRUST Site Director and UWSOM Family Medicine Clinical Faculty, Dr. Scott Dunn Named IAFP Physician of the Year
Dr. Scott Dunn, from Sandpoint, Idaho, was named the 2015 Idaho Family Physician of the Year on Saturday, May 16, 2015, at the 67th Annual Conference of the Idaho Academy of Family Physicians in Boise, Idaho.  Dr. Dunn serves as the Sandpoint WRITE/TRUST Site Co-Director and RUOP preceptor for Idaho WWAMI.  The Idaho Family Physician of the Year Award was given to Dr. Dunn in recognition of his generous contributions to his profession and medical education, as well as for his service and dedication to his community and to the State of Idaho.
Dr. Dunn has tenaciously served the Sandpoint area for over 24 years, during which he has held several leadership roles in the medical community.  As a preceptor and WRITE/TRUST site director for Idaho WWAMI, his passion for teaching and family medicine has inspired many WWAMI medical students to pursue careers in primary care.  Additionally, Dr. Dunn has been a RUOP (Rural Underserved Opportunities Program) preceptor for many years, and also trains residents.
Dr. Dunn has generated a lasting impact through his service as the Chair of the Idaho Medical Home Collaborative (IMHC) initiative in Idaho, a collaboration of healthcare-related professionals created to make recommendations to the governor on the development, promotion, and implementation of a patient-centered medical home (PCMH) model of care statewide.  He has dedicated countless hours of time to ensuring the success of this two-year pilot program in Idaho, and now serves as a member of the Idaho Healthcare Coalition, which oversees the implementation of the Statewide Healthcare Innovation Plan.  Over the years, Dr. Dunn has been actively involved with IAFP, serving on the IAFP Board of Directors since 2007.  He is the only physician who has held the role of IAFP President twice.  Idaho WWAMI would like to thank Dr. Dunn for his outstanding dedication to healthcare and medical education in Idaho, and congratulate him for the receipt of the IAPF Physician of the Year Award.