Christine Arenson, MD

    Co-Director of the National Center for Interprofessional Practice

    Christine A. Arenson, MD was named co-director of the National Center for Interprofessional Practice in July 2020, working in leadership Nexus with Barbara Brandt, the National Center’s founding director. Prior to joining the National Center, Dr. Arenson served as Alumni Professor and Chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Dr. Arenson graduated from the University of Delaware in 1986 and Jefferson Medical College in 1990. She completed family medicine residency training at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, followed by a fellowship in geriatric medicine. She was the founding Director of the Jefferson Division of Geriatric Medicine and Palliative Care and has focused on patient-centered care and team education for health professionals as strategies to improve the health of older adults. She was the founding Co-Director of the Jefferson Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education, serving in that role from 2007-2016. Most recently, she has been actively engaged in primary care transformation to meet the Quadruple Aim: Improve the Experience of Care, Improve Health Outcomes, Reduce Costs and Restore Joy in Practice. She previously served on the board of Jeff Care Alliance, Jefferson’s clinically integrated network, and the Executive Steering Committee for Jefferson Health population health and primary care service lines, implementing a new Advanced Primary Care Model across the Jefferson primary care network, now including over 100 practices. From 2013 – 2019 she was a member of the board of the Delaware Valley ACO. She also works to educate healthcare teams to improve healthcare outcomes. She is a past chair of the American Interprofessional Health Collaborative. She has served as a member of the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education Knowledge Generation Advisory Committee since 2014.